What I Will Not Be

What I will not be…

… is the person who is like my father, who doesn’t realise his selfish ways

… is the person who is like my mother, who hasn’t been able to follow her heart and find her own happiness

… is the person who is like my sister, who has allowed herself to be consumed by the opinions of others so much that it has affected her entire mental and physical state.

… is the person who sees the happiness of someone else far greater than mine, because there can never be longevity with me constantly giving.

… is the person who is defined by the cultural and religious boundaries of ‘what should be’. Rather I would be a person who is defined by the simple concept of love and respect.

… is the person who desires company because of the fear of loneliness. May I be the person who desires company because of the mutual gifts we can bring to one another to grow both as a unit, and as individuals.

… is the person who fears the unknown. May I be the person who would rise up to the challenge should my heart feel the gut saying yes to what may come.

… is the person who allows her fears to become her. May I overcome the barriers and feel sufficient peace and freedom to begin afresh with each new journey instead of being bogged down by the bad experiences of the last.

… is the person who stops loving. May I see a reason to love each person I see and come into contact with everyday.

Leave a Reply

